Miss March Ponders Clothing

Tonight is date night. Miss March and MusicTeach are going to an upscale Mexican restaurant for their first date. However, it’s hardly a first date because we were on the phone for hours last night. The conversation was great. He’s smart, funny, didn’t ask what words meant, and even sang on the phone. We traded favorite music, books, movies, quotes, movie stars, family history, etc. I genuinely had a grand old time talking to him. In a very gentlemanly manner he asked, “May I take you on a date tomorrow night?” And, because he asked so nicely, I said yes.

Now comes the age old question: what to wear?!

I was thinking about what’s appropriate to wear on dates while working out yesterday. The song “Anything Goes” came up on shuffle and I thought the lyrics best described how I feel,

In olden days a glimpse of stocking was looked on as something shocking, but now, God knows, Anything Goes.

I feel like it’s so complicated to get dressed for a date for the same reasons it’s hard to write an About Me section on a dating website: it’s all about the package. If I wear a dress and makeup, it makes me look feminine and sexy; If I wear jeans, a t-shirt and a vest, it makes me look hipster; If I wear jeans and an over-sized sweater, it makes me look casual. Also, I’m not someone to wear short skirts or heels; I’m into a classy, simple, sophisticated look. There’s so many options for casual and beautiful clothing out there that it’s hard to pick an outfit to represent you!

I’m thinking of going with my red wrap dress from Target. It’s one of those dresses that scream “First Date Dress!” because it’s sexy, shows some chest (but not cleavage), and is long enough to be classy. That with my gold gladiator sandals, and I think it’ll be a hit. I want him to be able to tell his mother, that girl had class. She was sexy, beautiful, and sophisticated. Plus, we are going to a nice place, so I want people to respect me and look at me like I know what I’m talking about.

I think there’s some specific dos and don’ts for dating: for example, clean hair is a must, no cut off jeans, no short skirts, no tank tops with spaghetti straps, no sweaters with animals on them, etc. Call me conservative and old fashioned, but what you wear on a first date counts! You want to look put together and adult, not falling apart and immature. What you wear on a first date could help you garner a second date!

What do you like to wear on a first date? What’s a do or a don’t for first dates?

I’ll let you know how it goes tonight!

Leave a Reply

