Miss March on Balls and Courts

Froggy went a-courtin’ and he did ride…

Right now Miss March is juggling between 2 (3 if you count Admiral Adama, though he’s far away we’re still emotionally connected) men. The ball is in the air and occasionally it lands on one guy, and sometimes the other. Really, it depends who’s around. But, here’s the thing about the proverbial ball: I am tired of being the one to serve it. So, for now, the ball is out of my court. These men can call, text, IM or what not, but not me. It’s not that I don’t care. I care a lot. Last night when I was out with MusicTeach all I could think of “I hope he calls me tomorrow because I really like him!” But, I am playing the field (all these sports terms…I got to think of some sewing/art terms for sex) so I feel like it’s not my place to push anything with these men. I do want to see them, but also, I tend to get uber-attached to the men who woo me, so it’s probably better that I let them do the courting. Speaking of courting, it’s exactly what I’ve been doing lately. Well, I’ve been the courted.

Check out the definition of courting from Wikipedia: [Courting] is the traditional dating period before engagement and marriage. During a courtship, a couple dates to get to know each other and decide if there will be an engagement. Usually courtship is a public affair, done in public and with family approval. It includes activities such as dating where couple go together for a dinner, a movie, dance parties, a picnic, shopping or general “hanging out”, along with other forms of activity. Acts such as meeting on the internet or virtual dating, chatting on-line, sending text messages or picture messages, conversing over the telephone, writing each other letters, and sending each other flowers, songs, and gifts constitute wooing.

I like how they include our generation’s form of courting: acts such as meeting on the internet, texts, sending songs, mix cds…they are all forms of courting. Maybe guy’s don’t realize how important those little things are while courting someone: those little sweet texts, or holding the door open, or paying for ice cream, those are all things that we remember…and when you want to take the relationship a step further, we have an index in our head of those things and we quickly file through it saying, “Did he open this door or pay for this dinner or make me laugh with that email?” Women want to know they are going to be adored. It’s the courting which lays the foundation for the relationship. Which, is probably why a lot of men don’t court properly; it’s like that line in When Harry Met Sally, “Why don’t you ever take me to the airport anymore?”

Have you been courted? Are women allowed to court in this day and age?

2 responses to “Miss March on Balls and Courts

  1. you are doing a great job! I am a commenter at Glamour and I love reading your blog!

  2. I honestly think that sometimes women do more courting/wooing than the men do. I find myself sending the IM or even writing on the facebook which then leads to the dude responding. I guess what I’m trying to get at is that girls initiate that they want to be woo’d and guys woo them.

Leave a Reply

