Miss March on New Music

Today’s a busy day. Family party, date, family party. I’ve decided to go very casual with the outfit for tonight’s date. Perhaps halter top and jean shorts. Also, I got Coheed a little rubber duck with devil ears and evil eyes. I know it sounds silly, but it reminds me of him. It’s one of the reasons I like him so much; he’s an adult, but still a kid at heart.

Anyway, I’ll keep today’s post short, but I wanted to let everyone know about this amazing new band that my friend, A, introduced me to. She’s always listening to cool indie music and when she tells me to listen to someone new, I often relent and become obsessed with the band. She knows my music taste well. Today’s band is She&Him (the lead singer is Zooey Deschanel and she’s totally my girl music crush (along with Jenny Lewis!)) The music is like mo-town mixed with 60’s pop-jazz and Hawaiian styles. It’s pretty damn amazing, and I’m not easily impressed by music. Her lyrics are what get me though. Some songs are covers (I adore their cover of “You Really Got a Hold on Me”) but her lyrics are almost haunting. I think music, like friends, comes into your life at different times when you need it most.

Check out the lyrics to Why Do You Let Me Stay Here? They’re simple, really as simple as you could get, but oh so poignant.

Why do let me stay here?
All by myself
Why don’t you come and play here?
I’m just sitting on the shelf
Why don’t you sit right down and stay awhile?
We like the same things and I like your style
Its not a secret; why do you keep it?
I’m just sitting on the shelf
I got to get your presence
Let’s make it known
I think you’re just so pleasant
I would like you for my own
Why don’t you sit right down and make me smile?
You make me feel like I am just a child
Why do you end it?
Just give me credit
I’m just sitting on the shelf

The music is amazing, I have literally been listening to it on repeat for hours. I highly suggest their album, Volume One. If you do something nice for yourself this weekend, make it be to buy this music! Thank you to my amazing A for suggesting this music! Have a fantastic weekend everyone! Happy Saturday!

What are you doing this weekend? Any music suggestions?

PS. Thank you for all the awesome comments!

2 responses to “Miss March on New Music

  1. Wow, you seem to love music as much as I do. Way to go! šŸ™‚

  2. I loved the band šŸ™‚ They’re my hot new favorite too.Great call on the rubber duckie šŸ˜€
    Hope you have a great day.

Leave a Reply

