Miss March on Art

An art gallery in town was having this big summer show this weekend; I wandered in, sort of reluctantly, after a lazy afternoon of ranting about men and shopping (and it was totally awesome when I went to get dressed for the opening and two pairs of jeans didn’t fit. Love it. Not. Grrr). It was an older crowd of people, munching on grapes and cheese, musing over the art. I had my camera with me, to take some pictures of the opening, so my bag was super heavy and I wasn’t really in the mood to be there. But, then I came across these pieces. They caught my eye and something in me lunged to them. They were simple, but extremely poignant. I stood very close to each one and examined each piece of art as though it was an old entry from my diary. Just like people and music, sometimes art comes into your life when you need it most.

The artist is Isabel Brito Farre; the works that I fell in love with were these three pieces which are all stitched into the paper. Totally awesome. I would buy them for any house I lived in. You must look through her website and look at all the work; it’s pure poetry.

your eyes; thread on paper, 15.25 x 15.75 in, 2007

your eyes; thread on paper, 15.25 x 15.75 in, 2007

your laugh; thread on paper, 15.25 x 15.75 in, 2007

your laugh; thread on paper, 15.25 x 15.75 in, 2007

your gesture; thread on paper, 15.25 x 15.75 in, 2008

your gesture; thread on paper, 15.25 x 15.75 in, 2008

Check out her other stuff; I’m not usually blown away by art, but for some reason, Isabel Brito Farre’s work hits a different place in my soul.

Has a piece of art ever touched your soul when you felt you needed it most?

2 responses to “Miss March on Art

  1. Miss March,

    I guess it’s kinda strange for me to respond to you on Carly’s site so I’ll do it here. Her site is great and a fun way to glance at other people…and I find it amusing that you responded back…how funny. I discovered the link to “Simon Speaks” and started reading about her life there. I wrote one time, “Your songs are etched in the memory of my youth and colored my youth w/ beautiful memories”. Do you think she’ll use that in a song? It’s grammerically incorrect, but so is everything else I write!!! Hey, you said that you were ranting about men. I’m guilty of ranting about women also. Been divorced for a while, and shutter at the thought of doing it again. There’s too much stuff for me to do and I have to remain focused. Not to say that I loose my focus, but between the cell phone check-ins and the interogation asking where I’d been, it’s hard to stay focused…I work better alone…sad…I guess. There’s something cool about that melancholy feeling one you when one you’re alone that reassures you that you’re making the right decision. It’s like…Oh yeah that’s right…I forgot… that I’m happy now. There’s a fine line between in-dependency and co-dependency isn’t there? Anyway Miss March, (I’m guessing you were a center-fold at one time!!!) My favorite Carly song is, “The right thing too do” and this lyric right here, and if you hear it and see it at the same time you see the shear emotion of it…It’s gorgeous.

    Hold me in your hands like a bunch of flowers
    Set me movin’ to your sweetest song
    And I know what I think I’ve known all along
    Lovin’ you’s the right thing to do
    Lovin’ you’s the right thing
    Lovin’ you’s the right thing to do
    Is the right thing to do

    I’ll add the link so you can have a big smile on your face as you dig this song!!! I’m honored to be the first on your blog comment. Bye!

    Michael

  2. missmarchabouttown

    Michael,
    Thank you so much for the lovely comment! I very well know that song and I love it. I used to play her music on repeat in high school, and that was one of the songs that I know by heart.
    I like that you said, “There’s something cool about that melancholy feeling one you when one you’re alone that reassures you that you’re making the right decision” I totally agree with you.
    Keep stopping by!
    Miss March

Leave a Reply

