Miss March’s Newest Revelations

So here’s the thing. I’m getting bored and slightly fed up with talking to men online. Talking to men that I meet from Dating Websites is like going on first dates, over and over and yes, over again. It’s the same talk: name, age, location, favorite music, favorite books, etc. Don’t get me wrong, I do enjoy it, but I think I need a break from it all. It sort of takes the excitement out of the first date (this could be my fault, I do ask a lot of questions, but this is also a safety measure, in my mind, too). A lot of things could be playing into my recent boredom about this: my desire to not be at my computer lately, my busyness, the beautiful weather, my recent slew of dates, my doing school work during the day and not wanting to type a million hours at night. They’re definitely all factors into my getting annoyed with the internetboys. Don’t get me wrong on this point either: I’m not cutting the current internetties out of my life, I’m simply going to be much more discriminating on who I start talking to/let IM me.

That’s the other thing. I need to be more discriminating in the location of these men. In three weeks, when school starts, I won’t have time to go on the same amount of dates I am now, and I certainly won’t have time to travel far to meet these men. While I am aware that this limits my man-area, I think it’s probably for the best for me. Whenever I “meet” a guy online and he’s too far from me to really see, I tend to feel overly guilty and end up backing out of the friendship. Of course I want to meet these men, but dating them is sort of out of the question right now. I was actually reading some of the success stories on jdate.com, and many of them were about people from different cities who ended up talking online, meeting after a long time, and figured out that they were meant to be. I’m not against this happening, but I don’t think this is the time in my life for that.

Confession time: I’m a tad worried that if I don’t keep going at this dating thing full steam ahead I’m going to start missing Admiral Adama. While our friendship is great, and we talk everyday, and right now I-miss-him-but-not-at-the-same-time, I’m afraid if I go a week without a date I’m going to fall apart. Lame, right? I’ve become a date-a-holic, and while it’s fun, it’s also draining and emotionally exhausting. I love meeting new people, I love learning about their lives, I love going out; I hate the games, I hate the not-calling, I hate the time in-between. And, this has always been my problem. With both HSBF and Adama, I rushed things. We were saying ILY within two weeks of meeting. I know I need to grow some patience, slow down a bit, and relax. Everything will happen in due time. Hopefully having a full time job and dealing with people all day will slow me down a bit.

In other news, this is the longest Adama and I haven’t seen each other in almost four years. Weird.

Have you made any realizations about yourself (either in the dating world, or anything) recently?

3 responses to “Miss March’s Newest Revelations

  1. I could be wrong, but you definitely seem to be dependent on other people. You missed the Admiral so you’ve decided to replace him with all the internet boys. Dating all the boys seems to be your fix, your drug. Just like any other drug, you may have developed an addiction.

    Why not try avoiding boys altogether for a while and just focus on yourself. Introspection might lead to some healing. I’m sure this would be tough because you might have to really face your feelings for the Admiral rather than repress them. By facing them, you can move on without the need with other boys to replace him. Detox is never a walk in the park.

  2. I couldn’t have said it better than Betty. You definitely need some time to get over Admiral. You don’t seem to WANT to get over him, but you NEED to either a) get back together with him or b) if that is not an option, get over him. This is much easier said than done, I realize, but as Betty said above, the sooner you face your feelings for Admiral the sooner you will be able to move on with your life. Good luck to you!

  3. Pingback: Recent Links Tagged With "march" - JabberTags

Leave a Reply

