Miss March: From the Mouths of Babes

So, yesterday I was hanging out with my aunt and my two cousins; Princess is 5 and Prince is almost 7. I was sitting in the front seat of the car, turned around, facing them, and they were eating chips and drinking iced tea while we waited for my aunt to run into some shops. Prince looks at me and says, “You staying for dinner tonight?” I shrugged my shoulders. “You got a date?” he shot his big brown eyes at me and held the chip at his lips, waiting for an answer. I laughed and said no. Princess poked her head from behind the seat and said in her most serious little Princess voice, “What about a playdate?” I couldn’t help but laugh out loud. Prince turned to Princess and said, “Uh, hello Princess, when you’re our age, it’s a playdate and when you’re Miss March’s age, it’s a date. Get it right!” At this point I was laughing so hard that there were tears in my eyes.

I guess he’s sort of right. Dating is like going on playdates. We meet at a mutual place, we have food, and an activitiy planned for us. If one of us doesn’t behave, our mother’s are called. It sounds like a playdate to me.

What funny things have the kids in your life said about dating?

Leave a Reply

