Miss March is Stressed…?

So, apparently I’m stressed out. Or so says my body. For about a week and a half now I’ve been getting this slight eyelid twitch every now and then on my right eye; I looked it up and it seems that indeed, it is caused by stress. Awesome. I’m also breaking out. Great. Also, couldn’t sleep for the life of me last night. That was the final kicker and I realized, at five in the morning, perhaps this could be stress related? Yeah. Fun.

I didn’t even know I was stressed out. I mean, logically, it makes sense, there’s a lot of things going on in my life (and a lot went on this summer) and I’m not one who deals with change all too easily. But, this may be the first time in my life that my stress is showing itself in physical form.

If you don’t realize you’re stressed, than it’s a little hard to properly take care of yourself to assuage that stress. School starts in two weeks, so I’m going to take it easy, no dates (for the most part–seeing ColoradoBoy tonight, but he makes me laugh, and laughing de-stresses!), no fretting, no nothing; just preparing for school, focusing on the important things, spending time with J, and enjoying the last days of summer.

Van Morrison sings, ” These are the days of the endless summer/These are the days, the time is now/There is no past, theres only future/Theres only here, theres only now…” And I think I need to start living to those lyrics. I’m putting the past behind me, I’m focusing on the amazing future ahead and living in the moment. I’m not really someone who lives “in the moment,” I live in the “what’s going to happen, why is it going to happen, when is it going to happen…” sort of mentality.

If there’s one thing that this summer taught me it’s that life is totally wacky. One week your life is going along like always, and the next week, you’re single, dating, meeting new people, and having the time of your life. I’ve met a lot of…interesting…people this summer, spent more time outside than imaginable, saw a meteor shower, got my hair cut, and enjoyed myself, no strings attached. Can you be NSA with yourself? I think I was this summer. It was a summer of no regrets, not overthinking (I tried!), and smiling more than frowning.

The song, for me, which best describes this summer is (Getting Some) Fun Out of Life sung by Madeline Peyroux; it’s about throwing caution to the wind and just simply living.

What song best describes your summer? How do YOU de-stress?!

5 responses to “Miss March is Stressed…?

  1. Hey hunnie–I enjoyed your blog. It is true that stress can creep up when you don’t even realize it! Subconsiously you can feel fine and relaxed, but physically you can quite the opposite. I definitely hear that one! As for summer, this was a wacky but exciting summer!! I was/am so glad to have really spent time with you and Justin more, and going to concerts in Bk. All in all, I think the only two things missing were going to the beach (which is usually a must, I am a Long Island chick lol) and a vaca. But, “we can’t always get what we want.” I was happy just to spend more time with Mike (my love) and our new local friends in NYC—it opened up a new world for me! Thank you!

    I think my song for the summer is “Old Friends”-Simon & Grafunkel…that tune just set the tone this summer!! Love ya hun~L

  2. I’d have to say my summer song would have to be LFO’s “Summer Girls”. It really hits home. I like girls that wear Abercrombie and Fitch. And Chinese food makes me sick.

  3. hm, this summer? maroon five’s won’t go home. wonder why.. wink wink.

    i don’t de-stress. i get tummy aches, headaches, rashes.. etc. its awful. i am walking around thinking i’m fine, because i am so even keeled i almost never FEEL stress. and then i can’t move my neck, or not scratch my legs covered in hives, or eat fat.

    buck up pup. things are going to calm down.. you sound like someone who doesn’t like change, but eventually all changes become old, become routine. promise.

  4. to destress: I go to the gym and run run run.
    i also take a nice, warm bath.
    or work on my scrapbook (which is something i haven’t done in years, but it used to work)! lol.

  5. Oh MM, I empathize with your physical reaction to stress. Last time I went to the dentist I thought I had TMJ. Just went last week and the symptoms are gone – I attribute it all to stress.

    My summer song is AC/DC’s ‘It’s a long way to the top…if you want to rock & roll’, High Voltage. It’s always the first CD I play to kick off a road trip. ‘Riding down the highway, going to a show…’

Leave a Reply

