Miss March’s Role Models

So, today I found out that my grandmother and her second husband were headed toward splitsville. They’ve been married for 26 years; they met when she was a mother of forty with six kids and he was the young guitar teacher. Now, 26 years later, he’s moving out with another woman, and my grandmother, though seemingly semi-upset, seemed sort of fulfilled and happy to move on with the rest of her life. She’s seventy one going on thirty; it was so funny to hear her say some of the things she was saying tonight, “Well, my first husband [my grandfather] and I were married 23 years, this one was 26 years, and the next could be 28 and I’d be ninety-seven and ready to move onto a younger man in his eighties!” I mean, more power to her. She’s a woman who never gave up on men or love.

My beautiful grandmother (sporting the little black dress and glasses) leaving a cruise ship in the '60s.

Both my grandmothers are amazing role models for living the unconventional romantic lifestyle. They both were young married brides with kids, who went on to get divorced and find love in other places. I’m proud of my grandmother. We all knew that she wasn’t the happiest person she could be when she was with him, for the last few years, and now she’s getting the chance to start over again. As Cat Stevens‘ (oh, I’m sorry, Yusuf Islam…) sings, “It ain’t never too late, to learn about love” and he’s right. Love comes in all ages, sizes, shapes, and forms; who says a newly divorced seventy one year old woman can’t find the man of her dreams and live with him for the next thirty years? She can, and she might! (and knowing my grandmother, she will!) She was already talking about single’s night at the churches in town, internet dating, and asking me where I meet the men I go out with. To use the old line, this was a totally “far out” night. It was semi-surreal talking to my grandmother about her marriage, the divorce, the new woman in her (soon to be ex) husband’s life, etc. She was very open and honest, strong and calm. She didn’t seem shaken or upset, she talked as though this was all a matter of fact. I mean, they were living their own lives in a lot of ways, but divorce is a dirty word and it’s never easy, even if it is amicable.

The best part of the night was when I was leaving and my aunt called out to me, “Let me know if you want to go to the gym with me this week!” and my grandma calls out from behind her, “Or double date!”

Is your family as odd as mine? Please do tell!

5 responses to “Miss March’s Role Models

  1. omygod.. too funny.. too funny.

  2. god bless your grandma! my family is nutty, but not like that. it’s more like an episode of Intervention or Cops.

  3. Hehehe Power to the lady! And to you 🙂

  4. Go grandma – I like her spunk!

  5. missmarchabouttown

    @Stephania: HA. That made me laugh out loud.

Leave a Reply

