Miss March Needs Your Help In The Kitchen!

Okay my amazing readers, Miss March needs YOUR help!

The other day when I was out with ColoradoBoy I sort of was talking outloud to myself (it was early in the morning, I can’t possibly be held accountable for the things I say before 9am!) and said, “Oh, you could come over sometime.” To which he said, “Invite me sometime.”

And so I did. For tomorrow night. For dinner.

Not only did/do I have to clean the house like a mad-woman, but I don’t have a single second to stop and think about having someone over. The mother-unit suggested I move the dinner to another night, but I don’t want to move a dinner just because I’ll be working all day. Life is life, right? I’ll come home from school, finish cleaning, food shop, and start dinner/get ready all in three hours. Can I do it? We’ll see.

This is where I need YOUR help!

What the hell is Miss March going to make for dinner?

Here’s the facts: he’s not a picky eater, but he is a healthy eater, like I am. I want something for the main course (meat), a fun vegetable, and something low key for another side. I’m a good cook, I know how to whip up a meal; unfortunately my head isn’t on food right now and my imagination for meal planning has gone out the window.

Since I’ll be out all day, please leave links, ideas, recipes, and HELP here for me to check when I get back from school. I’m sure you all have great ideas for easy meals for dates–share them, please!

I thank you in advance for bringing my stress level down two notches.

10 responses to “Miss March Needs Your Help In The Kitchen!

  1. asparagus with toasted almonds for a “fun veggie” there has gotta be a recipe for that somewhere haha

  2. akentuckycreation

    Some suggestions: prepare your meat in a slow cooker ( I have some recipes but there are thousands on the internet). Look at my side dishes/salads for other ideas. You could prepare an entire meal in the slowcooker: roast, potatoes, carrots, onions – this makes a wonderful sauce for gravy. Hope you will check out my site.

    Lee

  3. not asparagus, they are so awkward to eat! seriously! sweet potato “fries,” mexican burgers, and lots of SALSA. yay.

  4. Congrats on the date! Couple thoughts on quick & easy: bowtie pasta w/italian sausage, you cook the sausage & pasta, then saute it all together w/spinach & mizythra (sp) cheese, & a little white wine & garlic for cooking. Add some garlic bread and red vino and it’s good to go.

    Shrimp that are precooked are easy and fast. A shrimp caeser salad goes great w/some bread w/olive oil & vinegar. Brie w/sliced apples and grapes is a good appetizer too.

  5. Chicken parm on pasta. Its absolutely easy.

    I also recommend green bean casseroles because they are delicious.

  6. Here is my husband’s fave quick dinner:

    SHRIMP PASTA WITH SPICY, CREAMY TOMATO SAUCE

    Ingredients:
    1/2 lb shrimp (cooked or uncooked, your choice, just make sure they are peeled and deveined)
    1 jar spicy marinara sauce of your choice (I usually make my own sauce but using jarred sauce saves a lot of time)
    1 clove garlic – minced
    1/4 red onion – chopped
    1/2 bag fresh baby spinach
    2 tbsp balsamic vinegar (optional)
    Crushed red pepper flakes to taste
    1/2 – 3/4 cup heavy cream (depending on how creamy you want the sauce to be)
    Pasta of your choice (my husband likes linguine, I like angel hair)

    Cooking Directions:
    1) Heat sauce pan with 1/2 tbsp of EVOO (or whatever you have on hand). Add onions and garlic and cook about 3 mins.
    2) Add sauce to pan. Add balsamic vinegar and red pepper flakes if using. Bring to a boil on medium heat.
    3) Let sauce simmer for 5 min.
    4) Add heavy cream – bring to a boil and let simmer for 5 min.
    5) Add spinach and stir until leaves are cooked.
    6) Salt and pepper to taste.
    7) Add shrimp and let sauce simmer until shrimp are fully cooked.
    8) Serve sauce and shrimp over pasta – and voila – DINNER!

    Serve with fresh garlic bread (I like to buy a baguette from my fave bakery and use fresh garlic butter on top – freshly minced garlic and melted butter). I usually also serve a simple side salad with this meal as well – just mixed baby greens, tomatoes, sunflower seeds, red onion, and balsamic vinaigrette. This meal tastes great with a good white wine too.

    Sorry this was such a long post – I hope this helps!! Good luck with the date.

  7. You didn’t mention dessert but I love dessert and I love sharing food ideas!

    A good simple dessert you could serve is vanilla ice cream with fresh berries and chocolate sauce (I make my own – just melt semisweet chocolate chips in a bowl over boiling H2O with a dash of heavy cream).

    Ok, no more food ideas from me, I promise :).

  8. Ok, if he is a healthy eater stay away from pasta! Maybe not garlic since we all hope the date ends with some kissing. But, I suppose if you both have garlic, it’s ok . . .
    I agree with Weeblewobbles! Maybe a kick ass burger with cilantro and everything mixed in. It can be super gourmet, but yet seems really low-key and not like you are trying to cook him a five star meal . . . I like the sweet potato fries idea. You can do a healthy twist on the whole burger and fries thing . . .

    Man I feel your pain! I will try and send some recipes.
    There is always that famous engagement chicken or whatever they say- the rumor is if you make a man this chicken, he falls in love. haha

    Good luck hun! I will try and comment again later.

  9. wo REALLY EASY, REALLY QUICK recipes that also happen to be 1) delicious 2) extremely healthy:

    Quick Bean Salada
    1 14 oz can of Chick Peas
    4 Carrots, either shredded or simply cut into tiny pieces
    1 bunch of spring onions (scallions)
    1 med cucumber, sliced (for extra visual appeal, drag a fork down alternating sides before chopping)
    1/2 tsp salt
    1/2 tsp pepper
    3 tbsp lemon juice (the squeezed kind is my preference)
    1 red pepper, sliced

    Directions: Mix it up.

    Tuna Steaks (you can really use any steak but Tuna is a nice change of pace – I don’t have it very often)
    Important note: steaks should marinate for UP TO but 2 hrs in marinade. Not more, otherwise the salt will toughen the meat.

    2 Tuna Steaks (I halved the ingredients b/c the recipe is for four)
    1.5 tbsp (low sodium) soy sauce
    1/2 tsp Worcestershire sauce
    1/2 tsp wholegrain mustard
    1/2 tsp caster sugar (I have used regular sugar so don’t sweat it)
    1/2 tbsp sunflower oil

    ideally: lemon wedges and parsely for garnish

    place steaks in a bowl
    mix soy, worcestershire, mustard, sugar and oil in small bowl and pour that over steaks.
    make sure steaks get coated.
    cover it, put it in the fridge for at least 30 mins, up to 2 hours.
    bbq for 10-15 mins, basting with remaining marinade.
    add garnish and serve.

  10. Corn bread, ain’t nothing wrong with that!

Leave a Reply

