Miss March is a Country Mouse

He's a City mouse, and I'm a Country mouse! What are these mice to do?!

So, a few posts back I quoted a friend of mine who said, “As far as I’m concerned, dating a guy in The City is like dating a guy in another country.”

She doesn’t mean that the people are different, or the dialect is hard to get used to, she means that it’s physically hard to see a man when they live in The City and you in the the country. First of all, I work a lot; if I’m not teaching, I’m grading papers, emailing parents, working on final grades. Second of all, to go into The City is close to twenty bucks round trip; I don’t really have the money to pop in-and-out at my leisure.

The Prep has been begging me to come into The City to see him. I keep telling him that I would, if I could, but he caught me at a really busy time in my life. I just started a new job, I have all these “rookie-teacher” responsibilities; I don’t have time on the weeknights to go see him, and recently, even my weekends are full of school stuff.

Sure, I like him. But, this is becoming sort of aggravating. We’re talking online and he tells me he asked a bunch of friends about “our situation”–his family (um, yes, we went on one date and he asked his family about me…) told him to court me (like that answer!); but he said, of one of his friend’s answers, “she doesn’t really think you want to see me because if you did, you would have.” I was really pissed when I read that. I made it very clear that a) I’m not looking for a serious relationship, but just to meet people; b) I’m busy; and c) that I do like him! I email him every morning, we text all day, I send him funny little quotes from school…it’s not like I’m ignoring him, or anything close to it.

Furthermore, it’s getting on my nerves that every time we talk he asks when I’m “coming in.” How about just let it lie for a few minutes and then let’s see what my plans are. Or better yet…how about you come visit ME?! What a novel and revolutionary idea!

I find myself reassuring him that I like him more and more, while he’s wondering why I can’t just come see him, all the while I’m getting more fed up. The more he asks, the more I don’t want to see him. It just makes it a bigger and bigger deal each time he asks. I feel bad, guilty, and sorry for something I didn’t even do!

I just found it odd that he asked people about what to do…the answer is pretty clear: you come visit me, if I won’t visit you. It’s the writing on the wall that must be covered by graffiti in that big City of his! Ha.

5 responses to “Miss March is a Country Mouse

  1. I have been thinking about ways of explaining Prep’s behavior from an evolutionary perspective and here is what I have come up with: it has been suggested that the explanation for masculine aggression and female passivity has everything to do with their potential rewards; the maximum number of children a man can have is effectively limitless while for a female, the maximum ever recorded is less than 65 (don’t quote me, but it is around there). Men are also more likely to perceive behavior as sexually inviting for the similar reasons: it’s better to guess she’s interested when she’s not then to miss an actual opportunity to procreate. Perhaps Prep’s behavior is just a more modern version of that. Not to belittle MM’s obvious wit, charm and general attractiveness, but perhaps guys in general are easy sells, in which case while he may consciously recognize you as wanting to do your own thing, his body is thinking otherwise. To put it bluntly, women were built to choose while men were built to close.

  2. Have you invited him out to visit you? Maybe come up with some event that is close to home that you need to attend, but would love to have him join you. See if he’s open to it, if he really wants to see you, he’ll figure it out.
    NHB

  3. I think the real question is, is he worth it? My guess is the trip would be a pain, but ultimately if you were crazy about a guy you would make time on the weekend to see him. Conversely he could do the same thing. If you’re just looking to have fun and meet people he sounds a little too high maintenance!

  4. I think the real question is, is he worth it? My guess is the trip would be a pain, but ultimately if you were crazy about a guy you would make time on the weekend to see him. Conversely he could do the same thing. If you’re just looking to have fun and meet people he sounds a little too high maintenance! http://internwearszara.blogspot.com/

  5. Let him do the work! He’s the man! ha. and yes, it is weird that he asked people about you…actually, weirder that he told you he did. Makes him sound juvenile.

Leave a Reply

