Miss March Gets Laughed at by The Universe

Last night was one for the books. It’s what we, here at Miss March land, call a “movie-night”–this would only have happened to either Miss March, or a fictional character in a movie. What happened, might you ask?

Irony: Full steam ahead!

Yesterday CB and I went into the city to meet up with J, A, and a bunch of my college friends for one of my best girl’s birthday. It was great seeing everyone, and I had a fantastic time, but, because I had taught all day, by the time 10:00 came around I was beat. We bid adieu to the crowd and CB and I headed to the train station.

By this time it was almost 11:00. The next train was at 11:09. Something in the back of my head clicked and I remembered a text message from The Prep from earlier that night, “heading back to my parents house at around midnight.” That’s funny, I thought to myself, I wonder what time train HE’S taking; but I figured he was probably still out with his friends and would take the train after us. We go down to the train platform and my phone buzzes.

Text message. From The Prep: “on the 11:09 home!”

My face must have gone white because CB looked at me funny. I look up and right there, standing, waiting for the next train car (with his back, THANK GOD, turned to me) was The Prep. I grabbed CB’s hand and said, “just follow me.” We walked down about 6 train cars and he looked at me and said, “Uh, what’s going on?” I sort of did my oh-shit-I-have-to-tell-the-truth grimace and said, “Well, there’s this guy and he likes me and he’s been begging me to come see him in The City and he’s, um, on this train. Ha?” CB looked at me and started to hysterically laugh, “Why do we always see boys you date on our dates?!” He thought it was all too funny.

I, however, didn’t think it was so funny. I prayed that I didn’t run into The Prep on that train ride. Not that I’m over the moon about him, but I knew running into him, while I was with another man, would ruin all chances with him. I felt bad, for some reason. I shouldn’t have. I was really happy to be with CB, and I had made no plans to see The Prep, but I felt like he’s been begging me to see him, and here I was with someone else. “I’m too nice,” I said to CB, “I think it has something to do with watching my little brother grow up and feeling too much for men.” I explained. It’s true. I am too nice, most times, when it comes to men. I worry too much about their feelings. Ha.

Anyway, like the other CB (Carrie Bradshaw) says, “The universe may not always play fair, but at least it’s got a hell of a sense of humor.”

Any ironic stories from your Friday night?

2 responses to “Miss March Gets Laughed at by The Universe

  1. Oh it’s laughing at me tonight.But I feel like I kinda set myself up for it. (sad shrug)

  2. its too good i tell ya!!

Leave a Reply

